Whale Coaster Free Crochet Pattern

Hey, y’all! I know I’ve been gone for awhile…but I’m back! And I have a free pattern for you as well…an adorable Whale Coaster…from a little partnership with me and jennyandteddy.com

I found this adorable pattern on that blog, and I asked if I could publish my adapted pattern onto my blog. The original pattern can be found via this link: http://www.jennyandteddy.com/2013/02/whale-crochet-applique-free-pattern/

As you can see from that way-too-cute picture…this coaster is LOTS of fun! (The picture of the whale itself is below the pattern)

Image

Here’s what you’ll need:

I 5.5 mm crochet hook (for main body)

4.5 mm crochet hook, or similar size (for embroidering)

Yarn sewing needle

Apprx 50 yards of cotton for body

10 yards for water spout

15 yards for facial features

 

And here’s the pattern!

Round 1: With Magic ring start, put 6 sc into ring (6 sts)

Round 2: 2 sc in each st around (12 sts)

Round 3: *1 sc in first st, 2 sc in nxt st* rep 6 times (18 sts)

Round 4: *1 sc in first 2 sts, 2 sc in third st* rep 6 times (24 sts)

Round 5: *1 sc in first 3 sts, 2 sc in fourth st* rep 6 times (30 sts)

Round 6: *1 sc in first 4 sts, 2 sc in fifth st* rep 6 times (36 sts)

Now, ch 12 and in first ch from hook, put in hdc, hdc, dc, dc, then sl st, and then in the next open ch 1 spot, sl st again. Then, ch 2.

In the first ch from hook, put in hdc, hdc, dc, dc, then sl st all the way down to the fourth ch st away from the end of the circle. Then, sc in next 2 sts, hdc in next, then dc.

When back on the circle again, dc, hdc, hdc, and then sc.

Now, sl st until you reach the top of the whale. Then switch to blue yarn. Ch 4 with blue yarn and in the first ch from hook, work hdc, hdc, and dc in that st. Then sl st in that st, and sl st in the nxt ch 1 sp. Then, ch 2 and in that first ch from hook, work hdc, hdc, and dc in that st. Sc in each stc remaining of the ch 4, and when you reach the whale circle, sl st in next two sts, then FO and weave in ends.

Embroider the face using slip stitch embroidery (or other embroidery method), referring to picture for face and eye placement.

And you’re done!

Leave a comment if you’d like, and please check out Jane’s blog as well!

PS: I plan on writing up an embroidery tutorial in the near future. Look for it in March!Image

One thought on “Whale Coaster Free Crochet Pattern

  1. Cute! You are so talented, I just found your blog and I am about to go and subscribe. I always get so excited when I find other teens who are passionate about both blogging and crafts. Good luck to you! 😀

    Emily

    p.s. I’m 13!

Leave a comment